Club World Championship schedule takes shape


Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul will begin their defence against CEV Champions League winners Pomì Casalmaggiore

Manila, Philippines, July 22, 2016 – The schedule for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s Club World Championship 2016 has been released, with volleyball fans from around the globe set to witness some huge clashes between some of the world’s top clubs.

With the pool compositions complete and the competition schedule finalised, fans can now mark in their calendars all the key clashes of the world’s most prestigious club tournament.

Reigning FIVB Volleyball Women’s Club World champions Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul of Turkey head Pool A alongside CEV Champions League winners Pomì Casalmaggiore of Italy, South American champions Rexona Sesc Rio and PSL Manila.

Asian Club Championship gold medallists Bangkok Glass will meet reigning Turkish champions VakifBank Istanbul, multiple Swiss champions Volero Zürich, and Japanese champions Hisamitsu Springs Kobe.

Pool A
Team A1: Pomì Casalmaggiore
Team A2: Rexona Sesc Rio
Team A3: Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul
Team A4: PSL Manila

Pool B
Team B1: Bangkok Glass
Team B2: VakifBank Istanbul
Team B3: Volero Zurich
Team B4: Hisamitsu Springs Kobe
Reigning Turkish champs VakifBank Istanbul and Japanese champs Hisamitsu Springs Kobe will have the honour of opening the tournament at 10:00 local time at the impressive Mall of Asia Arena in the heart of the Philippine capital Manila.

Volero Zurich will then meet Bangkok Glass before Pomi Casalmaggiore meet Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul and home heroines PSL Manila take on Rexona Sesc Rio in the opening day’s final match.

Key clashes include Bangkok Glass’ encounter with Hisamitsu Springs on October 20 – a rematch of the 2015 Asian Club Championship final – while Volero Zürich’s match against VakifBank Istanbul on the same day is a repeat of their epic duel in the Playoff 6 of the CEV Champions League last season.

After the completion of pool stage, the top two teams in each pool will qualify for the semifinals, 13:00 and 19:30 local time on October 22. 

The final will take place at 19:00 local time on October 23.

Tickets for all matches will go on sale in early August.


All the News