Kosheleva blasts Eczacibasi to second Club World Championship title


Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul celebrate back-to-back titles after receiving the trophy for the 2016 FIVB Women's Club World Championship in Manila.

Manila, Philippines, October 23, 2016 - Eczasibasi VitrA Istanbul outlasted Pomi Casalmaggiore 3-2 (25-19, 20-25, 25-19, 22-25, 15-11) in the final of the 2016 FIVB Women's Club World Championship at the Mall of Asia Arena in the Philippines capital, to become the first team in history to claim the title a second time after their 2015 success.

It was the first time in history that a Women's Club World Championship was decided in five sets. In fact the only time a final had gone above three was last year in Zurich.

Led throughout by an inspired Tatiana Kosheleva, Eczacibasi ran away with the first set, thirlling the record 6,700 crowd - an all-time high attendance in the history of the competition this century.

But Pomi reacted in the second and with Lauren Gibbemeyer on the service line flew to a 7-0 lead. Eczacibasi did claw their way into the game, closing in at 12-10, but Pomi kept them at bay to tie the overall score 1-1.

After two lopsided sets to make it 2-2, Pomi enjoyed a slight lead until midway through the tie-break, leading by two at 8-10.

But it was then that Eczacibasi got going. A first timeout by Giovanni Caprara at 10-10 did nothing to stem the flow, as Neslihan Demir kept pounding from the service line. A second timeout at 12-10 and a tip by Carli Lloyd behind her head got Pomi back in at 12-11, but after the sideout Kosheleva stepped up to the service line, Jordan Larson tipped the ball in for 14-11 and Kosheleva herself unleashed a thundering ace on Anastasia Guerra to seal the deal.

Kosheleva led Eczasibasi scorers with 23 points, including four aces, backed up by Tijana Boskovic who added 17.

Samantha Fabris took the cudgels from Pomi with 22 points in the match that saw Eczasibasi narrowly leading in attacks, 55-52.

Pomi even led by blocks, 14-10, but Eczasibasi led in aces, 9-5, including that of Kosheleva that proved to be the winning point. However, Pomi conceded 33 unforced errors to Eczacibasi's 28.

Roll of Honour:
1991 - Sao Paulo: Sadia Sao Paulo (BRA)
1992 - Jesi: Il Messaggero Teodora Ravenna (ITA)
1994 - Sao Paulo: Leite Moca Sorocaba (BRA)
2010 - Doha: Fenerbahce Istanbul (TUR)
2011 - Doha: Rabita Baku (AZE)
2012 - Doha: Sollys Nestle Osasco (BRA)
2013 - Zurich: VakifBank Istanbul (TUR)
2014 - Zurich: Dinamo Kazan (RUS)
2015 - Zurich: Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul (TUR)
2016 - Manila: Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul (TUR)

Quick links:

- FIVB Volleyball Women's Club World Championship Manila 2016 - Website
- FIVB Volleyball Women's Club World Championship Manila 2016 - Results & Schedule
- FIVB Volleyball Women's Club World Championship Manila 2016 - Teams


All the News